Whether you’re gluten free, paleo, vegan, dairy free or none of the above, we’ve got you covered. Or maybe you have no idea what these terms even mean. We still got you! Here’s a primer on understanding the dietary categories you’ll find on our labels.
breaking the code
First things first. Our labels are color-coded based on the dish’s protein.
- Blue: seafood (shrimp, salmon)
- Red: red meat (beef, bison, pork)
- Yellow: poultry (chicken, turkey)
- Green: vegetarian & vegan
Along with the meal size (S, M, or L) and the nutrition & ingredient information, each label includes additional dietary callouts. Let’s break them down.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and other related grains. Gluten and its derivatives are also commonly added to commercially prepared foods that you would never imagine — soy sauce, salad dressings and marinades to name a few. All our meals (including third-party items) are gluten free. We ditch gluten-containing grains and flours for GF alternatives like oats, quinoa, brown rice, coconut flour, and almond flour. But shhh… your tastes buds have no idea.
The Paleo diet (a.k.a. the Paleolithic diet, caveman diet, or hunter-gatherer diet) adheres to a method of eating that closely mimics that of our hunter-gatherer ancestors. Practitioners believe we are genetically adapted to eating combinations of lean meats, seafood, eggs, vegetables, fruits, and nuts. Our interpretation of Paleo adheres to the basic tenets, while including snap peas, sweet potatoes, green beans, and vinegars.
Foods not allowed on the Paleo diet are ones that are a result of agriculture or animal husbandry, such as: dairy, grains of any kind (rice, oats, corn, wheat, quinoa) or gluten, legumes or beans (lentils, edamame, soy products, peanuts, peas).
Whole30 is a lifestyle program created to help reset your body and change your eating habits in just 30 days. It looks a lot like the Paleo diet, but takes it a step (or few) further by eliminating things like added sugars (i.e. maple syrup & honey), as well as alcohol, MSG, sulfites and the scale. Yes, you read that right: weighing yourself is totally off limits during your Whole30. Learn more about the Whole30 program here.
vegetarian & vegan
Eating a plant-based diet is a healthy choice for many Americans. Whether you choose to be a vegetarian full time or just part of the time, Snap Kitchen prepares plenty of vegetarian meal options that include nutrient-dense vegetables, fruits, whole grains, and healthy fats.
Our vegetarian meals do not contain: meat, poultry, or fish. These meals include cage-free eggs and cheeses with vegetable-based rennets. Our vegan meals do not contain any ingredients from animal or insect origins such as meat, poultry, fish, gelatin, eggs, honey, or dairy products.
(Note: pescatarian = vegetarian + seafood)
Our dairy ingredients are limited to Greek yogurt and cheese at Snap Kitchen. But if you’re lactose intolerant, vegan, or generally restricting dairy from your diet, we have many meals that do not contain any dairy products whatsoever.